July 24, 2024
Iga Swiatek

World No. 1, Iga Swiatek, is a four-time Grand Slam winner.
World No. 1 Iga Swiatek has become only the second tennis player in the 21st century to win 11 consecutive matches against former Grand Slam champions without dropping a single set.

The Pole tennis star completed the milestone on April 19 (Friday) after she defeated the 2021 US Open champion, Emma Raducanu, 7-6 (7), 6-3 at the WTA 500 Stuttgart Open. With the victory over Raducanu, Swiatek cruised to the semifinals at Stuttgart, but was beaten by Elena Rybakina a day later.

She had entered the tournament as a two-time defending champion. Her loss to Rybakina in three sets also halted Swiatek’s 10-match winning streak in the tournament.

In her streak, Iga Swiatek has defeated the likes of former Grand Slam winners such as Sloane Stephens, Victoria Azarenka, Angelique Kerber, and more in straight sets. The Pole tennis star herself is a four-time Grand Slam Champion, and three of her major titles have come at Roland Garros (2020, 2022 and 2023)

As a result, Iga Swiatek is one of the hot favourites to lift the silverware at the upcoming French Open. Swiatek will defend her title against Aryna Sabalenka, Coco Gauff, and other top ranks. The main draw of the 2024 French Open is scheduled to take place from May 26 to June 9.

Apart from Iga Swiatek, only Serena Williams has reached this astonishing milestone in the 21st century. Williams did the same between the 2010 Wimbledon Championships and the 2012 US Open.

Swiatek has been in decent form in this calendar year, winning two titles — both WTA 1000 Masters trophies at Qatar and Indian Wells. So far she has won 19 titles in her professional career, starting with the French Open title in 2020. Swiatek went on to win at Roland Garros in 2022 and 2023 while also adding US Open trophy to her cabinet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com